Showing 2 results

Estevan (Sask.)

United Church of Canada Arcola-Estevan Presbytery

  • SCAA-UCCS-0008
  • Corporate body
  • 1951–1973

Arcola-Estevan Presbytery was created from the amalgamation of Arcola Presbytery and Estevan Presbytery, in 1951. In 1973, Arcola-Estevan Presbytery was combined with part of Assiniboia Presbytery, becoming the new Souris Valley Presbytery.

United Church of Canada Estevan Presbytery

  • SCAA-UCCS-0009
  • Corporate body
  • 1925–1951

Estevan Presbytery was the new name given to Alameda Presbytery, by the first Saskatchewan Conference (October 1925). As Alameda Presbytery, it was one of the original 16 that were established by the first General Council of the United Church of Canada (June 1925), to be part of the new Saskatchewan Conference. Initial boundaries for both Alameda Presbytery and Weyburn Presbytery were to follow the recommendation of a joint meeting of Alameda and Weyburn Presbyteries, from the Presbyterian Synod of Saskatchewan, and the Weyburn District of the Methodist Saskatchewan Conference.

In 1951, Arcola and Estevan Presbyteries amalgamated, becoming the Arcola-Estevan Presbytery.