Showing 2 results

Rocanville (Sask.)

Rocanville United Pastoral Charge

  • SCAA-UCCS-0475
  • Corporate body
  • 1925–

Rocanville Pastoral Charge was formed as a new United Church charge in 1925, part of Abernethy Presbytery and containing preaching points at Rocanville, Hillburn and Prosperity. By 1932, the charge and its points had moved to Qu'Appelle Presbytery. In the 1950s, Perth was also listed as part of the charge, alongside the original three points. Prosperity amalgamated with Rocanville in 1963 and Hillburn closed in early 1964, leaving just Rocanville in the charge. Spy Hill was added, ca.1969, and the charge was listed as Rocanville - Spy Hill by the early 1980s. On January 1, 1989, Wapella joined Rocanville and Spy Hill to form the three-point charge Rocanville - Spy Hill - Wapella Pastoral Charge. Welwyn was added in the 1990s and the name was officially changed to Rocanville United Pastoral Charge, on January 1, 1998. Wapella left the charge and formed a separate Wapella Pastoral Charge in 2006.

United Church of Canada Qu'Appelle Presbytery

  • SCAA-UCCS-0020
  • Corporate body
  • 1925–2000

Qu’Appelle Presbytery was one of the original 16 presbyteries established by the first General Council of the United Church of Canada (June 1925), to be part of the new Saskatchewan Conference. Initial boundaries were based on the previous Qu’Appelle Presbytery, which had been part of the Presbyterian Synod of Saskatchewan.

In 2000, Saskatchewan Conference went from 10 presbyteries to 7, with each adopting a new name. Most pastoral charges from Qu’Appelle Presbytery became part of the new Twin Valleys Presbytery.