Showing 5 results

Swift Current (Sask.)

Junior Fortnightly Club√

  • SCN00087
  • Corporate body
  • 1947-2015?

The Junior Fortnightly Club was formed on January 21, 1947, in Swift Current, Saskatchewan, by members of the Fortnightly Club (which then became known as the Senior Fortnightly Club). It had 11 charter members and a maximum of 20 members at any one time. Meetings were held every two weeks in a different member's home. Dues were collected at each meeting. The Club was formed mainly for the purpose of study, as intellect was important to the Club. One or two members would present a talk or a paper at each meeting. In later years, each member was assigned a topic on a rotating basis to present on at the next meeting. Some of the topics were women, books and authors, household hints, science, education, entertainment, and local, national, and international news. The Club was involved in the community in various ways, including sponsoring students, participating in charitable works, hosting baby showers, and providing funeral lunches. Members also met as a lunch social club.

Swift Current First Pastoral Charge

  • SCAA-UCCS-0340
  • Corporate body
  • ca.1943–

Swift Current Pastoral Charge was formed after the union of Knox United Church and Metropolitan United Church, in Swift Current, Saskatchewan, in 1943. Prior to 1925, Knox had been a Presbyterian field and Metropolitan a Methodist field. After the founding of Grace United Church nearby, the earlier Swift Current church was renamed (by popular vote) to become First United Church, ca.1958. Pastoral charges similarly adopted the new names of these churches. On February 14, 1987, Rush Lake – Burnam – Neidpath Pastoral Charge (Cypress Hills Presbytery) was amalgamated into Swift Current First Pastoral Charge.

Swift Current Grace Pastoral Charge

  • SCAA-UCCS-0341
  • Corporate body
  • ca.1958–2018

Swift Current Grace Pastoral Charge was created around 1958, in association with a previously existing Swift Current Pastoral Charge. Preaching places in the charge included Success (until closure, June 22, 1986).

United Church of Canada Swift Current Presbytery

  • SCAA-UCCS-0029
  • Corporate body
  • 1925–1959

Swift Current Presbytery was one of the original 16 presbyteries established by the first General Council of the United Church of Canada (June 1925), to be part of the new Saskatchewan Conference. Initial boundaries were based on the previous Swift Current Presbytery, which had been part of the Presbyterian Synod of Saskatchewan. Prior to Union, in 1925, there had also been a Swift Current District, in the Saskatchewan Conference of the Methodist Church.

In 1959, the presbytery was amalgamated with part of Assiniboia Presbytery (west of Highway 19) and became Cypress Hills Presbytery.