Showing 4 results

Battleford (Sask.)

Battleford Pastoral Charge

  • SCAA-UCCS-0483
  • Corporate body
  • 1925–

Battleford Pastoral Charge was formed as a self-sustaining United Church charge in 1925, part of Battleford Presbytery and consisting of the Battleford appointment. By 1932, the charge contained preaching points at Battleford, Eagle Hills, and Prongua -- the latter two, along with Waines, had initially been part of Eagle Hills Mission Field in 1925. Between 1946 and 1951, Prince (formerly part of Meota Mission Field then Pastoral Charge) was also added to the charge. As of 1962, preaching points were Battleford, Denholm (formerly part of Ruddell Pastoral Charge), Eagle Hills and Prongua, then by 1967, Battleford and Denholm. In 1987, Denholm amalgamated with Battleford.

United Church of Canada Battleford Presbytery

  • SCAA-UCCS-0015
  • Corporate body
  • 1925–2000

Battleford Presbytery was one of the original 16 presbyteries established by the first General Council of the United Church of Canada (June 1925), to be part of the new Saskatchewan Conference. Initial boundaries were based on predecessor Battleford Presbytery, which had been part of the Presbyterian Synod of Saskatchewan.

In 2000, Saskatchewan Conference went from 10 presbyteries to 7, with each adopting a new name. Most pastoral charges from Battleford Presbytery became part of the new Prairie Pine Presbytery.