Showing 4 results

Moosomin (Sask.)

Moosomin Pastoral Charge

  • SCAA-UCCS-0318
  • Corporate body
  • 1925–

Moosomin Pastoral Charge was formed as a new United Church charge in 1925, containing preaching points at Moosomin (Bethel United Church) and Orangeville, which was soon after reassigned to Wapella Pastoral Charge. Additional points included: Fleming (until closure, January 1, 1985).

Prior to Union, there had been Methodist and Presbyterian congregations in the area. The churches amalgamated in 1925, in what had been previously the Moosomin Methodist Church (built in 1889, dedicated 1890), and the Presbyterian St. Andrew's Church building (dedicated 1903, located on the site of an earlier Presbyterian Church, built 1884) was sold soon after.

United Church of Canada Qu'Appelle Presbytery

  • SCAA-UCCS-0020
  • Corporate body
  • 1925–2000

Qu’Appelle Presbytery was one of the original 16 presbyteries established by the first General Council of the United Church of Canada (June 1925), to be part of the new Saskatchewan Conference. Initial boundaries were based on the previous Qu’Appelle Presbytery, which had been part of the Presbyterian Synod of Saskatchewan.

In 2000, Saskatchewan Conference went from 10 presbyteries to 7, with each adopting a new name. Most pastoral charges from Qu’Appelle Presbytery became part of the new Twin Valleys Presbytery.