Showing 5 results

Duff (Sask.)

Balcarres Pastoral Charge

  • SCAA-UCCS-0201
  • Corporate body
  • 1925–1969?, 1989–

Balcarres Pastoral Charge was formed as a new United Church charge in 1925, including points at Wrights and Saltoun. By the 1960s, Wrights and Saltoun were no longer noted but points at Duff and Lorie had been incorporated, under the name Balcarres-Pheasant Forks Pastoral Charge. This was combined with Abernethy-Lemberg Pastoral Charge (a.k.a. Lemberg-Abernethy Pastoral Charge), ca.1969, to create Pheasant Creek Larger Parish. In 1989, the Parish split up into Abernethy-Lemberg, Balcarres, and Duff Pastoral Charges.

Duff Pastoral Charge

  • SCAA-UCCS-0490
  • Corporate body
  • 1989–2007

Duff Pastoral Charge was created July 1, 1989, from the division of Pheasant Creek Larger Parish (which also created Abernethy-Lemberg and Balcarres Pastoral Charges). Prior to this, the preaching point at Duff had been included in Balcarres Pastoral Charge (ca.1960s). Duff Pastoral Charge was officially closed June 30, 2007.

Nokomis Pastoral Charge

  • SCAA-UCCS-0202
  • Corporate body
  • 1925–2004

Nokomis Pastoral Charge was formed as a new United Church charge in 1925, containing the preaching points at Nokomis and Richfarms. Later additions included Saline (ca.1936), and Rowanville (ca.1940). By 1946, Richfarms had moved to Lockwood Pastoral Charge and the only points listed in Nokomis Pastoral Charge were Duff, Lorlie and Nokomis. As of 1951, the points at Duff and Lorlie had moved to Pheasant Forks Pastoral Charge and Nokomis Pastoral Charge consisted of Richfarms (again) and Lockwood. By 1962, Richfarms was no longer listed in the charge.

Around 1977, Nokomis and Govan amalgamated into the new Nokomis-Govan Pastoral Charge, with points at Duval, Govan, Lockwood and Nokomis. Lockwood closed June 30, 1981, and Duval closed July 1, 2000. On January 1, 2004, the remaining Nokomis and Govan preaching points divided: Govan joined Semans-Raymore-Punnichy to created the new Crossroads Pastoral Charge; Nokomis amalgamated with Lanigan Pastoral Charge (containing Knox United Church, Lanigan), creating Lanigan-Nokomis Pastoral Charge.

Pheasant Creek Larger Parish

  • SCAA-UCCS-0123
  • Corporate body
  • ca.1969–1989

Pheasant Creek Larger Parish was a pastoral charge created around 1969, from an amalgamation of Abernethy-Lemberg Pastoral Charge (with Abernethy, Lemberg and Neudorf points), Balcarres-Pheasant Forks Pastoral Charge (with Balcarres, Duff and Lorlie points) and File Hills "Indian" Pastoral Charge. Around 1980, File Hills separated to re-establish itself as a separate charge.

As of July 1, 1989, the charge was split into Abernethy-Lemberg (a.k.a. Lemberg-Abernethy), Balcarres, and Duff Pastoral Charges.

Pheasant Forks Pastoral Charge

  • SCAA-UCCS-0512
  • Corporate body
  • 1925–1969?

Pheasant Forks Pastoral Charge was formed as a new United Church charge in 1925, part of Abernethy Presbytery and including points at Pheasant Forks, Duff and Lorlie. By 1962, the points joined with Balcarres Pastoral Charge to form the combined Balcarres - Pheasant Forks Pastoral Charge. Around 1969, the joint-charge amalgamated with Abernethy-Lemberg Pastoral Charge (with Abernethy, Lemberg and Neudorf points) and File Hills Pastoral Charge to become the new Pheasant Creek Larger Parish.