Fonds RG 2026 - College of Agriculture Dean's Office fonds

Zone du titre et de la mention de responsabilité

Titre propre

College of Agriculture Dean's Office fonds

Dénomination générale des documents

Titre parallèle

Compléments du titre

Mentions de responsabilité du titre

Notes du titre

Niveau de description



RG 2026

Zone de l'édition

Mention d'édition

Mentions de responsabilité relatives à l'édition

Zone des précisions relatives à la catégorie de documents

Mention d'échelle (cartographique)

Mention de projection (cartographique)

Mention des coordonnées (cartographiques)

Mention d'échelle (architecturale)

Juridiction responsable et dénomination (philatélique)

Zone des dates de production


  • 1905-1970, predominant 1930-1967 (Production)

Zone de description matérielle

Description matérielle

6.88 m of textual records

Zone de la collection

Titre propre de la collection

Titres parallèles de la collection

Compléments du titre de la collection

Mention de responsabilité relative à la collection

Numérotation à l'intérieur de la collection

Note sur la collection

Zone de la description archivistique

Nom du producteur


Histoire administrative

An integral part of the University of Saskatchewan since 1910, the College of Agriculture's original mandate was to provide resident teaching, agricultural investigation, and extension services to the Province's farming community. The College offers a 4-year degree program leading to the Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture (BSA) and a 2-year associate course leading to the Certificate in Agriculture (CAP). The associate or certificate course emerged as the School of Agriculture, within the College, in 1937; a full-time director was appointed in 1947 and in 1949 the School moved into new facilities in Kirk Hall, named in honour of Dr. L.E. Kirk who served as Dean between 1937 and 1947. The first courses in Agriculture were taught in the 1912-13 term. The following individuals have served as Dean: William J. Rutherford (1909-1930); Alexander Shaw (1930-1935); W.C. Murray [acting] (1935-1937); L.E. Kirk (1937-1947); V.E. Graham [acting] (1947-1948); V.E. Graham (1948-1964); W.J. White [acting] (1964-1965); W.J. White (1965-1974); J.A. Brown (1974-1984); D.A. Rennie (1984-1990); J.W.B. Stewart (1990-).

Historique de la conservation

Portée et contenu

Although these records contain files created by the first five Deans of the College of Agriculture, the majority of the records are from A.M. Shaw, L.E. Kirk, and V.E. Graham. The records include correspondence, minutes, and memoranda regarding both College and, to a lesser extent, University administration; departmental reports, extension activities, addresses, and material relating to national and international agricultural organizations.

Zone des notes

État de conservation

Source immédiate d'acquisition


The material has been organized into the following series:
A. Dean's Correspondence - General
B. Dean's Correspondence - Subject
C. Dean's Correspondence - Personal
D. News clippings
E. Student Records - School of Agriculture
F. Addendum - Dean's Correspondence - Subject

Langue des documents

Écriture des documents

Localisation des originaux

Disponibilité d'autres formats

Restrictions d'accès

Access to files containing personal information about faculty, staff or students is restricted.

Délais d'utilisation, de reproduction et de publication

Instruments de recherche

Finding aid available: file titles with descriptions.

Éléments associés

Éléments associés


Further accruals are expected

Identifiant(s) alternatif(s)

Zone du numéro normalisé

Numéro normalisé


Mots-clés - Lieux

Mots-clés - Genre

Zone du contrôle

Accession area