Archief RG 2026 - College of Agriculture Dean's Office fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area


College of Agriculture Dean's Office fonds

Algemene aanduiding van het materiaal

Parallelle titel

Overige titelinformatie

Title statements of responsibility

Titel aantekeningen



referentie code

RG 2026



Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Datering archiefvorming


  • 1905-1970, predominant 1930-1967 (Vervaardig)

Fysieke beschrijving

Fysieke beschrijving

6.88 m of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archivistische beschrijving

Naam van de archiefvormer


Institutionele geschiedenis

An integral part of the University of Saskatchewan since 1910, the College of Agriculture's original mandate was to provide resident teaching, agricultural investigation, and extension services to the Province's farming community. The College offers a 4-year degree program leading to the Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture (BSA) and a 2-year associate course leading to the Certificate in Agriculture (CAP). The associate or certificate course emerged as the School of Agriculture, within the College, in 1937; a full-time director was appointed in 1947 and in 1949 the School moved into new facilities in Kirk Hall, named in honour of Dr. L.E. Kirk who served as Dean between 1937 and 1947. The first courses in Agriculture were taught in the 1912-13 term. The following individuals have served as Dean: William J. Rutherford (1909-1930); Alexander Shaw (1930-1935); W.C. Murray [acting] (1935-1937); L.E. Kirk (1937-1947); V.E. Graham [acting] (1947-1948); V.E. Graham (1948-1964); W.J. White [acting] (1964-1965); W.J. White (1965-1974); J.A. Brown (1974-1984); D.A. Rennie (1984-1990); J.W.B. Stewart (1990-).

Geschiedenis beheer

Bereik en inhoud

Although these records contain files created by the first five Deans of the College of Agriculture, the majority of the records are from A.M. Shaw, L.E. Kirk, and V.E. Graham. The records include correspondence, minutes, and memoranda regarding both College and, to a lesser extent, University administration; departmental reports, extension activities, addresses, and material relating to national and international agricultural organizations.


Materiële staat

Directe bron van verwerving


The material has been organized into the following series:
A. Dean's Correspondence - General
B. Dean's Correspondence - Subject
C. Dean's Correspondence - Personal
D. News clippings
E. Student Records - School of Agriculture
F. Addendum - Dean's Correspondence - Subject

Taal van het materiaal

Schrift van het materiaal

Plaats van originelen

Beschikbaarheid in andere opslagformaten

Restrictions on access

Access to files containing personal information about faculty, staff or students is restricted.

Termen voor gebruik, reproductie en publicatie.


Finding aid available: file titles with descriptions.

Associated materials

Related materials


Further accruals are expected

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standaard nummer


Geografische trefwoorden

Naam ontsluitingsterm

Genre access points


Voorwaarden voor raadpleging en gebruik