Fonds - Coteau Books fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Coteau Books fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1975-1989 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

8.16 m of textual records
33 photographs

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Administrative history

Dates: Coteau Books was established in 1975 and continues to publish to this day. Mandate: Coteau Books was set up as part of a non-profit publishing co-operative whose key goal was to publish prairie and Canadian writing - poetry, fiction, plays and children's books. Administrative relationships: Coteau was initially established as the book division of the Thunder Creek Publishing Co-operative. This co-operative also produced albums under the division Caragana Records. As Coteau grew and established itself, it became the dominant representation of the co-operative. Administrative structure: Originally based in Moose Jaw, Coteau's four original board members, Barbara Sapergia, Geoffrey Ursell, Robert Currie, and Gary Hyland, were responsible for editing and production, with the assistance of one person hired to handle orders. By 1983 Coteau had established a branch office in Regina with a managing editor and two additional employees. The four original board members were eventually joined by seven others in 1978 and 1983. In 1988, Gary Hyland quit the Co-operative to concentrate on his own writing. The Board of Directors still contains three of the original members of the Thunder Creek Publishing Co-operative: Sapergia, Ursell, and Currie.

Custodial history

Scope and content

Fonds consists of six series: Coteau Books; Other Publishers; Professional Organizations; Government, Business and Industry; Caragana Records; and Thunder Creek Publishing Co-operative. The records reflect the growth of Coteau Books from an arm of a small co-operative run by its members to an established publisher with three employees. Of special note is the large quantity of manuscripts in various stages of production.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Series titles follow the University Filing System. Efforts were made to maintain the original filing system utilized by Coteau Books.

Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Permission of a representative of Coteau Books is needed before a file may be accessed.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Copyright remains with respective authors.

Finding aids

Inventory for 89-64 is available.

Associated materials

Related materials


General note

Includes oversize.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres