MI-54

Moose Jaw Celebrate Saskatchewan Committee fonds. - [textual record]. - 1979-1981. - 8.00 cm of textual records.

Box V-30

### **Administrative history**

On January 2, 1979 Moose Jaw city council (Mayor Herb E. Taylor) appointed a committee to plan the 1980 celebrations in Moose Jaw for the 75th anniversary of Saskatchewan as a province. The committee consisted of Jan Sorochan, S.H. (Hub) Gutheridge and A.E. Peacock. Members added to the committee were Mrs. Nan Buchbach, Peggy Pequin, Mary Carty, Cliff Christensen, John McConville, Jerry Kaiser, Deane Hoover, Hugh Colwell, Joseph Karner, Leonard Biden, Penny Tonita, Russ McKnight, and Linda Boudreau. In October 1979 Louis H. (Scoop) Lewry was appointed chairman. The provincial government was extending grants to the city to be distributed among organizations for the celebration of the anniversary. The committee called for representations from organizations for the allocation of the grant money. 41 applications were received. 32 grant requests were approved by the committee and funds were distributed. Before the committee disbanded in 1981, any funds remaining were donated to the Moose Jaw United Way.

### **Scope and content**

This fonds consists of the records and files of the Moose Jaw Celebrate Saskatchewan Committee from its formation in 1979 to its disbanding in 1981.

# **Conservation note**

This fonds was re-boxed and foldered in 2004.

## Note of immediate source of acquisition

Accession number 54.BA donated to the archives by the Moose Jaw Celebrate Saskatchewan Committee.

#### Accruals

No further accruals expected.

# Finding aids

See file list.

File List

- 001 Minutes of meetings 1979-1980
- 002 Correspondence 1979-1981
- 003 Grant applications 1979-1980
- 004 Financial statements 1979-1981
- 005 Bank deposit book 1980
- 006 Cheque books 1979-1981
- 007 Cancelled cheques 1979-1981
- 008 Final reports/financial statements from Celebrate Saskatchewan Committee and grant recipients 1980-1981
- 009 Events and project guides