First Nations√



Scope note(s)

Source note(s)

Display note(s)

Hierarchical terms

First Nations√

Equivalent terms

First Nations√

Associated terms

14 Archival description results for First Nations√

14 results directly related Exclude narrower terms

Cree Delegation for meeting with Prime Minister Wilfred Laurier

Members of the Cree Delegation that met with Canadian Prime Minister Wilfred Laurier in Lloydminster on August 8, 1910. It includes (from back row to front, L to R): Fred Bowtell, Percy Gilbert, Angus Quinney, Benjamin Quinney, Jean Baptiste Opissinow, Wemistiko-siawasis, Joe Taylor, William Sibbald, Father Cunningham, Mikweyapiy, Flying About aka Waskahat, Three Legs aka Nistokotchis or Mr. Cook, Antoine Muskego aka Kekekwayan, Misihew aka Chief, Silly Man aka Motchyinis, Fox aka Makesis, Mr Quinney, Sr, aka Manito-nikik, John Calling Bull, Napeview, Feather Trousers aka Oiway-tas, Horse aka Kamistatin, Ugly Fingers aka Myitchetchiy, Carpenter aka Mistchi-Konapew.

Native Law Centre - Exterior

View of students standing outside of the Native Law Centre at [420] Cumberland Avenue South.

Bio/Historical Note: The Native Law Centre at the University of Saskatchewan was founded in 1975 by Dr. Roger C. Carter whose commitment to social justice issues convinced the University of the need for a Centre to facilitate access to legal education for Indigenous peoples. This was to promote the development of the law and the legal system in Canada in ways that better accommodate the advancement of Indigenous peoples and communities, and to disseminate information concerning Indigenous peoples and the law. Structured initially as an independent special project within the University of Saskatchewan, the Centre became a department of the College of Law in 1984. From the beginning, the Centre has nurtured innovation in its program areas of teaching, research, and publication. The Indigenous Law Centre continues to build upon that history and remains attentive to the contributions made as well as the challenges confronted by Indigenous peoples in Canada and internationally. Directors of the Centre have included: Roger C. Carter (1975-1981); D.J. Purich (1981-1994); J.Y. Henderson (1994- ) and Larry Chartrand (2017-). In May 2018, the Cree words “Wiyasiwewin Mikiwahp” were added to the Native Law Centre's name, so it will now be called Wiyasiwewin Mikiwahp Native Law Centre.

Saskatchewan Indian Federated College fonds

  • FNUC-1
  • Fonds
  • 1973-1987

This fonds contains records created and utilized by faculty and staff of the college for both administrative and educational purposes. Those records which have been appraised and described have been divided into 5 sous-fonds: I. President's Office; II. Administration; III. Dennis Acoose (former SIFC Acting Director, Vice President, and instructor); IV. Student Services; V. Employment Orientation Program.

Saskatchewan Indian Federated College