Office of the Treaty Commissioner

Área de identidad



Forma autorizada del nombre

Office of the Treaty Commissioner

Forma(s) paralela(s) de nombre

Otra(s) forma(s) de nombre


  • Aboriginal Culture
  • Government - First Nations

Área de contacto


Sheldon Krasowski



Dirección (calle)

Bay 215-2553 Grasswood Road East





Nombre del país


Código postal

S7T 1C8




Correo electrónico



Área de descripción


The Office of the Treaty Commissioner (often called the OTC), started in 1989 by the Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations and the Government of Canada.

It was created to guide both parties through their differing view on Treaties,, by giving recommendations for Treaty land entitlement and education. Within the initial five-year mandate under the guidance of Commissioner Cliff Wright, the OTC played a vital role in the signing of the Treaty land entitlement agreements between 28 First Nations and the Governments of Canada and Saskatchewan.

The current Treaty Commissioner is Mary Culbertson. She is a member of the Keeseekoose First Nation and with her January 2018 appointment she became the first woman Treaty Commissioner of Saskatchewan.

Treaty Commissioner Culbertson was preceded by George E. Lafond, who was appointed in 2012, as well as the Honourable Bill McKnight who was appointed in 2007. The Honourable Judge David M. Arnot was appointed Treaty Commissioner for a ten-year period starting in January 1997.

Contexto geográfico y cultural

Mandatos/Fuentes de autoridad

In accordance with the Memorandum of Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations signed in 2008 (the “Memorandum”), the Office of the Treaty Commissioner in Saskatchewan has a mandate to analyze Treaty-related issues, develop options, and report to and provide advice to the Government of Canada and the Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations to achieve practical results that reflect the Treaty relationship. Its efforts are intended to:
Foster a strong and continuing treaty relationship (Memorandum, section 5.1.1 ),
Assist in resolving outstanding issues between the Government of Canada and the Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations regarding the Treaty relationship and identify opportunities to enhance governance, achieve economic independence and improve the well-being of First Nation communities, (Memorandum, section 5.1.2 ) including in the priority areas of
• Economic interest – land and resources; hunting, fishing, trapping and gathering; shelter
• First Nation citizenship and its relationship to First Nations governance
• Justice
• Education and Child Welfare, and
• Health
Overcome obstacles that may affect Treaty relations among all residents and interests in Saskatchewan (Memorandum, section 5.1.3)
Celebrate through public education and commemorative activities the Treaty relationship and enhance awareness and understanding that all residents of Saskatchewan are beneficiaries of the Treaty relationship (Memorandum, section 5.1.4).

---Our Principles & Values

As outlined in the Memorandum (section 2.0), the Office of the Treaty Commissioner in Saskatchewan is guided by the following principles:
Acknowledgement of the significant role of Elders as knowledge keepers and respect for and adherence to ceremonial and oral traditions;
Treaties are foundational to the relationship between Treaty First Nations in Saskatchewan and the Crown, creating and committing the parties to an enduring relationship based on solemn promises exchanged and respect acknowledged at the time of treaty-making;
Upholding the honour of the Crown in all of its dealings with First Nations, which includes the role of the Crown in Right of Canada as successor to the British Crown, and the honour of Treaty First Nations in upholding Treaty;
Issues are addressed through a non-confrontational process which is respectful of First Nation cultures, languages and traditions and supports resolution of the issues.
In undertaking its work, the Office of the Treaty Commissioner is committed to the values of:
• Neutrality
• Honesty
• Accuracy
• Integrity
• Respect
• Fairness
• Accountability
• Open Communication

Estructura administrativa

Administración de registros y políticas de recolección



Instrumentos de descripción, guías y publicaciones

Área de acceso

Horario de apertura

Condiciones de acceso y requisitos


Área de servicios

Servicios para la investigación

Servicios de reproducción

Áreas públicas

Área de control

Identificador de la descripción

Identificador de la institución

Reglas y/o convenciones usadas

Estado de elaboración

Nivel de detalle

Fechas de creación, revisión o eliminación




Notas de mantención

Puntos de acceso

Puntos de acceso

  • Indigenous peoples√ (Thematic area)
  • Politics and Government (Thematic area)
  • Populations (Thematic area)
  • Central Saskatchewan (Geographic subregion)
  • East-Central Saskatchewan (Geographic subregion)
  • Northeast Saskatchewan (Geographic subregion)
  • Northern Saskatchewan (Geographic subregion)
  • Northwest Saskatchewan (Geographic subregion)
  • Southwest Saskatchewan (Geographic subregion)
  • Southeast Saskatchewan (Geographic subregion)
  • Portapapeles

Contacto principal

Bay 215-2553 Grasswood Road East
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
CA S7T 1C8