Fonds RG 2001 - President's Office fonds

Zone du titre et de la mention de responsabilité

Titre propre

President's Office fonds

Dénomination générale des documents

Titre parallèle

Compléments du titre

Mentions de responsabilité du titre

Notes du titre

Niveau de description



RG 2001

Zone de l'édition

Mention d'édition

Mentions de responsabilité relatives à l'édition

Zone des précisions relatives à la catégorie de documents

Mention d'échelle (cartographique)

Mention de projection (cartographique)

Mention des coordonnées (cartographiques)

Mention d'échelle (architecturale)

Juridiction responsable et dénomination (philatélique)

Zone des dates de production


  • 1906- (Production)

Zone de description matérielle

Description matérielle

121.37 m of textual records

Zone de la collection

Titre propre de la collection

Titres parallèles de la collection

Compléments du titre de la collection

Mention de responsabilité relative à la collection

Numérotation à l'intérieur de la collection

Note sur la collection

Zone de la description archivistique

Nom du producteur

Histoire administrative

The office of President and Vice-Chancellor is the chief executive office of the University. The President has overall responsibility for the direction and supervision of the academic work of the university and its business affairs, and any other duties assigned by the Board of Governors (University Act, s.81). Between 1909 and 1949 the presidents had very broad powers; since that time various limitations have been placed on them (Hayden, p.10). The President is appointed by, and is responsible to, the Board of Governors. Presidents currently are appointed to 5-year terms, with the possibility of renewal. The Presidents to date have been: Walter Charles Murray (1908-1937), James S. Thomson (1937-1949), Walter P. Thompson (1949-1959), John W.T. Spinks (1959-1974), Robert W. Begg (1974-1980), Leo F. Kristjanson (1980-1989), Blaine A. Holmlund [acting] (1989-1990), J.W. George Ivany (1990-1999), and R. Peter MacKinnon (1999-).

Historique de la conservation

Portée et contenu

Given the nature and scope of the office, the Presidential records usually provide the most comprehensive source for documenting all facets of the University, including important initiatives, funding, research and teaching, college and departmental development, and faculty, staff, and student activities. Generally these records contain correspondence, reports, minutes, annual general reports of college and departmental activities, as well as some personal papers, speeches and addresses.

Zone des notes

État de conservation

Source immédiate d'acquisition


Organized into series by president:
RG 2001.1 - Walter C. Murray (1908 1937);
RG 2001.2 - James S. Thomson (1937 1949);
RG 2001.3 - Walter P. Thompson (1949 1959);
RG 2001.4 - John W.T. Spinks (1959 1974);
RG 2001.5 - Robert W. Begg (1974 1980);
RG 2001.6 - Leo F. Kristjanson (1980 1989);
RG 2001.7 - J.W. George Ivany (1989 - 1999).
RG 2001.8 - R. Peter MacKinnon (1999-2012)
RG 2001.9 - Ilene Busch-Vishniac (2012-2014)
RG 2001.10 – Gordon Barnhart (2014-2015)
RG 2001.11 – Peter Stoicheff (2015-

Langue des documents

Écriture des documents

Localisation des originaux

Disponibilité d'autres formats

Restrictions d'accès

Records of the President's Office are restricted for ten years following the termination of a President's term of office. Researchers must obtain permission from the President's Office to access restricted records. Access to files containing personal information relating to faculty, staff or students is governed by university policy and the Local Authority Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

Délais d'utilisation, de reproduction et de publication

Instruments de recherche

Finding aids available for series 1-6: by series, with file-level descriptions. Box lists for series 7-9.

Éléments associés


Identifiant(s) alternatif(s)

Zone du numéro normalisé

Numéro normalisé


Mots-clés - Lieux

Mots-clés - Noms

Mots-clés - Genre

Zone du contrôle

Zone des entrées