Vanguard (Sask.)



Scope note(s)

Source note(s)

Display note(s)

Hierarchical terms

Vanguard (Sask.)

Equivalent terms

Vanguard (Sask.)

Associated terms

Vanguard (Sask.)

4 Names results for Vanguard (Sask.)

4 results directly related Exclude narrower terms

Cadillac-Neville-Vanguard Pastoral Charge

  • SCAA-UCCS-0433
  • Corporate body
  • ca.1969–1996

Cadillac-Neville-Vanguard Pastoral Charge was created around 1969, after the addition of the Cadillac preaching point to the Neville-Vanguard Pastoral Charge. Around 1996, the charge amalgamated with Aneriod Pastoral Charge, to create New Venture Pastoral Charge.

Neville-Vanguard Pastoral Charge

  • SCAA-UCCS-0320
  • Corporate body
  • ca.1942–1969

Neville-Vanguard Pastoral Charge was created around 1942, from the amalgamation of Neville Pastoral Charge and Vanguard Pastoral Charge. Initial preaching points included Daybreak, Neville, Pambrum, Titanic and Vanguard. As of 1951, points consisted of Pambrum and Vanguard. Around 1969, after Cadillac Pastoral Charge was dissolved, the preaching point was added to Neville-Vanguard, creating the Neville-Vanguard-Cadillac Pastoral Charge.

New Venture Pastoral Charge

  • SCAA-UCCS-0434
  • Corporate body
  • 1995–

New Venture Pastoral Charge was organized April 8, 1995, from the amalgamation of Aneroid Pastoral Charge and Cadillac-Neville-Vanguard Pastoral Charge. Early preaching points included: Aneroid; St. Paul's United, Cadillac; Glencaid United, Kincaid; St. Paul's United, Neville; Ponteix; and Vanguard. Neville closed June 30, 2008. Aneroid closed April 30, 2012. By 2018, only Kincaid and Ponteix remained in the charge.

United Church of Canada Swift Current Presbytery

  • SCAA-UCCS-0029
  • Corporate body
  • 1925–1959

Swift Current Presbytery was one of the original 16 presbyteries established by the first General Council of the United Church of Canada (June 1925), to be part of the new Saskatchewan Conference. Initial boundaries were based on the previous Swift Current Presbytery, which had been part of the Presbyterian Synod of Saskatchewan. Prior to Union, in 1925, there had also been a Swift Current District, in the Saskatchewan Conference of the Methodist Church.

In 1959, the presbytery was amalgamated with part of Assiniboia Presbytery (west of Highway 19) and became Cypress Hills Presbytery.