Affichage de 73 résultats


United Church Woman's Missionary Society, Saskatchewan Branch

  • SCAA-UCCS-0072
  • Collectivité
  • 1926–1962

The United Church of Canada was created in 1925, from the union of Presbyterian, Methodist, Congregationalist and Local Union churches. The women’s organizations from the uniting denominations at the time included: the Canada Congregational Woman's Board of Missions (mostly in eastern Canada, since 1886); the Women’s Missionary Society of the Methodist Church (founded 1876); the Woman's Missionary Society of the Presbyterian Church in Canada, Eastern Division (founded 1825) and Western Division (founded 1876); along with their various corresponding regional and local units. Soon after union, these became national, regional and local units of the United Church of Canada Woman’s Missionary Society (W.M.S.).

The new Society had its first annual meeting in 1926. Like the earlier societies, it brought the message of missions before the entire community of the Church, while offering financial support and personnel to its own wide mission programme.

In 1962, United Church W.M.S. and W.A. organizations across the country amalgamated to form the United Church Women (U.C.W.). Presbyterial and local groups developed along similar lines to national bodies, becoming local and presbyterial U.C.W. units in January 1962.

United Church Young Peoples' Union, Saskatchewan Conference

  • SCAA-UCCS-0215
  • Collectivité
  • ca.1935–1965

The Young People's Union (Y.P.U.) of the United Church and its Conference-level units were organized around 1935, following the recommendation of the Interprovincial Young People's Council (1934). Saskatchewan Conference's Y.P.U. appears to have been formed sometime after the first National Y.P.U. Council, in mid-1935.

In 1965, the United Church Y.P.U. and its constituent Conference- and Presbytery-level groups appear to have been reorganized to form units of Kairos.

United Church of Canada Weyburn Presbytery

  • SCAA-UCCS-0014
  • Collectivité
  • 1925–1959

Weyburn Presbytery was one of the original 16 presbyteries established by the first General Council of the United Church of Canada (June 1925), to be part of the new Saskatchewan Conference. Initial boundaries for both Weyburn Presbytery and Alameda Presbytery were to follow the recommendation of a joint meeting of the Alameda and Weyburn Presbyteries, from the Presbyterian Synod of Saskatchewan, and the Weyburn District of the Methodist Saskatchewan Conference.

In 1959, Weyburn combined with the part of Assiniboia Presbytery east of Highway 19, to become a new Assiniboia Presbytery.

United Church of Canada Battleford Presbytery

  • SCAA-UCCS-0015
  • Collectivité
  • 1925–2000

Battleford Presbytery was one of the original 16 presbyteries established by the first General Council of the United Church of Canada (June 1925), to be part of the new Saskatchewan Conference. Initial boundaries were based on predecessor Battleford Presbytery, which had been part of the Presbyterian Synod of Saskatchewan.

In 2000, Saskatchewan Conference went from 10 presbyteries to 7, with each adopting a new name. Most pastoral charges from Battleford Presbytery became part of the new Prairie Pine Presbytery.

General Council of Local Union Churches of Western Canada

  • SCAA-UCCS-0074
  • Collectivité
  • ca.1912–1925

In 1908, the Basis of Union was formulated that would eventually lead to the creation of the United Church of Canada in 1925. Coinciding with this spirit of unity, the first Union church (Presbyterian and Methodist) was set up in Melville, Saskatchewan in 1908, followed a short time later by the church in Frobisher. In 1912, a committee of Union Churches approached the national church courts of the Presbyterian, Methodist, and Congregational denominations in order to seek affiliation with the parent churches. This committee formed the nucleus of what would become the General Council of Union Churches of Western Canada. An Advisory Council, with representatives of the Union Churches and the parent churches, was established in 1914 as a means of creating the sought after link between the Union Churches and the parent churches.

Résultats 1 à 15 sur 73