The Ninette (or Manitoba) Sanatorium was built in the town of Ninette, on the shores of Pelican Lake, in 1909. Consisting of many buildings built specifically to serve as a sanatorium, the lake view, treed landscape, and stone buildings all contributed to a picturesque setting. This setting was purposeful, as TB treatment up until the Second World War consisted primarily of rest, good food, and fresh air. A large veranda was built on the front of the sanatorium to accommodate the patients in their beds while they took in fresh air. Surgical procedures were incorporated into treatment plans in the following decades. It is not clear when Indigenous patients began being treated at Ninette. The hospital admitted primarily non-Indigenous patients until hospitalization rates among those groups began to decline after the Second World War, leaving open beds that needed to be filled. The Ninette Sanatorium remained in operation until 1972, when TB treatment was wholly transferred to the Central TB Clinic in Winnipeg.