Showing 175 results

Archival description
University of Saskatchewan. College of Pharmacy and Nutrition√
Print preview View:

120 results with digital objects Show results with digital objects

College of Home Economics - Class of 1946 Reunion

Group photo of dignitaries at a special ceremony held to recognize Dr. Hope H. Hunt's work in the School of Household Science/College of Home Economics. Standing: Mrs. Minto Symons; J.W.T. Spinks, University President; Lorna Davis. Seated: Dr. Edith C. Rowles Simpson, dean, College of Home Economics; Dr. Hope Hunt; Dr. Anne Kernaleguen, former Home Economics faculty member; and Mary Spinks. The ceremony was part of the 25th anniversary reunion of the Home Economics class of 1946.

Bio/Historical Note: Dr. Hope H. Hunt was dean of the School of Household Science and of the {renamed in 1952) College of Home Economics from 1942 to 1965. She died 21 January 1995 in Saskatoon at age 97.

College of Medicine - Anti-Epileptic Research Team

Members of a U of S research team think that a potent, anticonvulsant compound they've discovered has a good chance of becoming the drug of choice for epileptics world-wide, especially because it's nontoxic and analgesic to boot. Members (l to r): Jonathan Dimmock, professor of Pharmacy and Nutrition; Ramanan Puthucode, post doctoral fellow; and Wilson Quail, professor of Chemistry.

College of Pharmacy - 50th Anniversary Reunion - Plaques

Image of two plaques unveiled on wall during Pharmacy reunion. Plaque at left honouring Esli L. Woods, Dean of Pharmacy from 1928-1946. Plaque at left: "In grateful memory of / the devoted and able teaching / and service of / Esli Longworth Woods/ B.S.P., M. Sc., F.C.I.C. / Born Sept. 22, 1898 Died Dec. 31, 1951 / a member of / the faculty of Pharmacy 1928-1946 / and / dean of Pharmacy 1928-1946 / erected by / his friends and former students".

Bio/Historical Note: Dr. Esli Longworth Woods was born of Irish Canadian parents in Napanee, Ontario, in 1898. He received his schooling in Oakville, Ontario and completed a four-year drug apprenticeship in Winnipeg and Indian Head, Saskatchewan. During World War I Dr. Woods served with the Canadian Mounted Rifle Battalion in France for three and a half years. He was then transferred to the Canadian Army headquarters in England where he served as a sergeant. In 1919 Dr. Woods returned to Canada to attend the School of Pharmacy at the University of Saskatchewan where he obtained a certificate in Pharmacy in 1920. His teaching career began with his position as a lecturer and instructor in the pharmacy laboratory while a student. He was awarded a BSc in Pharmacy with Great Distinction in 1924. In 1928 Dr. Woods was appointed dean of the College of Pharmacy. At age thirty he was the youngest dean of Pharmacy in North America. Dr. Woods helped to establish the three- and four-year pharmacy programs at the U of S. In 1930 he received his MSc from the University of Wisconsin. In 1946 Dr. Woods accepted the position as head of the newly-created Department of Pharmacy at the University of British Columbia. Three years later, he became the first dean of Pharmacy when, through his efforts, the Board of Governors recognized the department as a full-fledged faculty — the Faculty of Pharmacy. Dr. Woods was widely acknowledged as having made outstanding contributions to pharmacy, particularly in the standardization of pharmaceutical education in Canada. His leadership skills helped to develop both the College of Pharmacy at the U of S and the Faculty of Pharmacy at UBC. Dr. Woods was dean of Pharmacy at UBC until his death on 31 December 1951 at age 53.

College of Pharmacy - Awards

Pat Dolson, district sales manager, Charles E. Frosst & Co., presents the Frosst Medal and Scholarship to Joanne Alice Stewart as Arnold Johnson, Saskatoon Frosst representative, looks on. Taken in the Thorvaldson Building, with a display case marking "100 Years of Filling Prescriptions" visible in background.

College of Pharmacy - Awards

William S. Escalante, local representative, Frank Wyeth Horner, presents a book to Donald Frank LeGatt, winner of the Frank Wyeth Horner Memorial Prize for High Standing in Subjects Related to Pharmacology. Dr. J.G. Jeffrey, professor of Pharmacy, stands at left.

Results 1 to 15 of 175