Showing 33 results

Corporate body Presbyterian Church√

Cooperating Committee of Saskatchewan

  • SCAA-UCCS-0075
  • Corporate body
  • 1911–1925

The Cooperating committee of Saskatchewan was formed when representatives of the Presbyterian and Methodist Churches met at Regina, May 2, 1911, in order to facilitate cooperative activity in various localities in Saskatchewan. The formation of this Committee paralleled a similar action taken at the national level by the Presbyterian, Methodist and Congregational Churches. After mid-1923, this committee was called the Provincial Committee on Co-operation.

Dominion Church Property Commission

  • SCAA-UCCS-0082
  • Corporate body
  • ca.1924–1927

The Dominion Commission (officially "The Commission appointed pursuant to The United Church Act, chapter 100 of the Statutes of Canada, 1924") was formed to enable the distribution of property between the United Church of Canada, which about 70% of Presbyterian Churches in Canada joined, and the remaining "non-concurring" Presbyterian Church.

File Hills Residential School

  • SCAA-UCCS-0156
  • Corporate body
  • 1889–1949

The residential school was preceded by a small day school, opened by J.C. Richardson in 1884 on the Little Black Bear Reserve and closed soon afterwards. In 1886, R. Toms reopened the day school and it operated until 1889, when the Woman's Missionary Society with the support of the Foreign Mission Committee of The Presbyterian Church in Canada and the Department of Indian Affairs built a new school just outside of the reserve’s boundaries. This was operated by The Presbyterian Church until 1924 when its operation was transferred to the United Church of Canada who managed it until its closure in 1949.

General Council of Local Union Churches of Western Canada

  • SCAA-UCCS-0074
  • Corporate body
  • ca.1912–1925

In 1908, the Basis of Union was formulated that would eventually lead to the creation of the United Church of Canada in 1925. Coinciding with this spirit of unity, the first Union church (Presbyterian and Methodist) was set up in Melville, Saskatchewan in 1908, followed a short time later by the church in Frobisher. In 1912, a committee of Union Churches approached the national church courts of the Presbyterian, Methodist, and Congregational denominations in order to seek affiliation with the parent churches. This committee formed the nucleus of what would become the General Council of Union Churches of Western Canada. An Advisory Council, with representatives of the Union Churches and the parent churches, was established in 1914 as a means of creating the sought after link between the Union Churches and the parent churches.

Joint Committee on Church Union

  • SCAA-UCCS-0081
  • Corporate body
  • ca.1903–1925

The Joint Committee officially convened in April 1904, in Toronto, bringing together appointed representatives from the Congregationalist, Methodist and Presbyterian Churches, to negotiate church union. Meetings continued through to 1908, when the terms written in the Basis of Union were agreed upon and sent to the negotiating churches, for discussion and approval. By 1912, both the Congregationalists and the Methodists had agreed to the terms. The decision was more contentious for the Presbyterian Church, though in 1916, their General Assembly decided to go ahead with the union.
Between 1916 and 1925, the Joint Committee worked to complete the union and defeat those opposing it, including the newly formed Presbyterian Church Association.

Knox Presbyterian Church (Regina)

  • Corporate body
  • 1905?-1951

The congregation at Knox Presbyterian Church appears to date back to around 1882, building a church in 1885, at the corner of Scarth Street and 11th Avenue, and a later replacement in 1905. Knox joined the United Church of Canada in 1925. In 1951, Knox United Church amalgamated with Metropolitan United Church, to become Knox-Metropolitan United Church (and Pastoral Charge), located on the site of the former Metropolitan United Church, at the corner of Victoria Avenue and Lorne Street.

Moose Jaw College

  • SCAA-UCCS-0306
  • Corporate body
  • 1912–1931

Moose Jaw College was initially established (by the Presbyterian Synod of Saskatchewan) as a residential college for young men. The cost of the buildings was raised by public subscription and the site officially opened in September 1913, on a 45-acre site near River Park, in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan. From 1925 until the early 1930s (when it closed), the principal was Rev. Angus A. Graham.

Results 1 to 15 of 33