Archief RG 2096 - College of Nursing fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area


College of Nursing fonds

Algemene aanduiding van het materiaal

Parallelle titel

Overige titelinformatie

Title statements of responsibility

Titel aantekeningen



referentie code

RG 2096



Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Datering archiefvorming


  • 1952-2012 (Vervaardig)

Fysieke beschrijving

Fysieke beschrijving

5.08 m of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archivistische beschrijving

Naam van de archiefvormer


Institutionele geschiedenis

Promoted by the Saskatchewan Registered Nurses' Association, a School was established within the School of Medical Science in 1938. Initially the Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree was a 5-year program consisting of 2.5 years at the University followed by 2.5 years training in one of four affiliated hospitals located in Regina and Saskatoon. In 1950 the program was altered to 2 years at the University, 2 years at a hospital. and a final year back at the University. Three years later a 1-year program for Registered Nursed leading to a Diploma either in Public Health or in Teaching and Supervision was established. With the opening of [Royal] University Hospital in 1954, the hospital experience component at affiliated hospitals was discontinued. That year a basis 3-year diploma program was established. In 1967 nursing teachers became members of the University faculty and students were admitted to a new 4-year curriculum. The 3-year diploma program was phased out in 1969 and the 5-year in 1971. The School became a College in 1974. The following individuals have served as Directors or Deans: [Directors:] K.W. Ellis (1938-1950); H.B. Keeler (1950-1969); L.D. Willis (1969-1974); [Deans:] H.J. Kernen (1974-1980); U. Ridley (1981-1990); Y. Brown (1990- ).

Geschiedenis beheer

Bereik en inhoud

This fonds contains material relating to the students, faculty and administration of the College of Nursing. These records generally contain correspondence, minutes, reports, and memoranda; as well as considerable material relating to national and provincial professional associations, health organizations, studies, publications, and research work.


Materiële staat

Directe bron van verwerving


There are no office or departmental subdivision within this fonds. Material is generally divided by accession.

Taal van het materiaal

Schrift van het materiaal

Plaats van originelen

Beschikbaarheid in andere opslagformaten

Restrictions on access

Personal material relating to faculty, staff, and students is restricted.

Termen voor gebruik, reproductie en publicatie.


Finding aids available: by accession, with file title lists; some file-level descriptions.

Associated materials

Related materials


Further accruals expected.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standaard nummer


Geografische trefwoorden

Genre access points


Voorwaarden voor raadpleging en gebruik