Archief RG 2041 - Department of History fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area


Department of History fonds

Algemene aanduiding van het materiaal

Parallelle titel

Overige titelinformatie

Title statements of responsibility

Titel aantekeningen



referentie code

RG 2041



Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Datering archiefvorming


  • 1939-2006, predominant 1963-1991 (Vervaardig)

Fysieke beschrijving

Fysieke beschrijving

11.95 m of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archivistische beschrijving

Naam van de archiefvormer


Institutionele geschiedenis

The Department of History was one of the original four departments of the University. E.H. Oliver gave the first lecture on the first day of classes, set the first examination, and did the first research--collecting and editing documents concerning the history of Western Canada. The first MA awarded by the University was in History (1912). The History Department also played an important role in the founding of the Departments of Economics. Political Science, and Anthropology and Archaeology. Classes were original offered in Ancient, Medieval, Modern European and British History. As time progressed classes were added in Canadian, American, Slavic, and World History. The following have served as head of the department: E.H. Oliver (1909-1914); F.H. Underhill (1914-1915); A.S. Morton (1915-1940); G. Simspson (1940-1958); H. Neatby (1958-1969); I.N. Lambi (1969-1974); P.G. Bietenholz (1974-1978); T.D. Regher (1978-1982); H.C. Johnson (1982-1984); J.M. Hayden (1984-1988); C.A. Kent (1988-1990); D. Miquelon (1990-1995); W.A. (Bill) Waiser (1995-1998); Larry Stewart (1998-2003); Dave DeBrou (2003-March 2004); Martha Smith-Norris (Acting head) April-June 2004; Brett Fairbairn (2004-2006); Chris Kent (2006-2007); Brett Fairbairn (2007-2008); Valerie Korinek (2008- ).

Geschiedenis beheer

Bereik en inhoud

This fonds contains correspondence, memoranda, and reports relating to all aspects of the administration and programs of the Department of History. Also included is correspondence and submissions to the Canadian Journal of History, an academic journal of non-Canadian history published by the department.


Materiële staat

Directe bron van verwerving


The organization of this fonds varies with each accession.

Taal van het materiaal

Schrift van het materiaal

Plaats van originelen

Beschikbaarheid in andere opslagformaten

Restrictions on access

Personal material relating to faculty, staff and students is restricted.

Termen voor gebruik, reproductie en publicatie.


Finding aid available: file title list only.

Associated materials

Related materials


Further accruals expected.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standaard nummer


Geografische trefwoorden

Genre access points


Voorwaarden voor raadpleging en gebruik