University of Saskatchewan. College of Agriculture. Dean's Office

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

University of Saskatchewan. College of Agriculture. Dean's Office

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



An integral part of the University of Saskatchewan since 1910, the College of Agriculture's original mandate was to provide resident teaching, agricultural investigation, and extension services to the Province's farming community. The College offers a 4-year degree program leading to the Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture (BSA) and a 2-year associate course leading to the Certificate in Agriculture (CAP). The associate or certificate course emerged as the School of Agriculture, within the College, in 1937; a full-time director was appointed in 1947 and in 1949 the School moved into new facilities in Kirk Hall, named in honour of Dr. L.E. Kirk who served as Dean between 1937 and 1947. The first courses in Agriculture were taught in the 1912-13 term. The following individuals have served as Dean: William J. Rutherford (1909-1930); Alexander Shaw (1930-1935); W.C. Murray [acting] (1935-1937); L.E. Kirk (1937-1947); V.E. Graham [acting] (1947-1948); V.E. Graham (1948-1964); W.J. White [acting] (1964-1965); W.J. White (1965-1974); J.A. Brown (1974-1984); D.A. Rennie (1984-1990); J.W.B. Stewart (1990-).


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places