University of Saskatchewan. College of Education. Dean's Office

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

University of Saskatchewan. College of Education. Dean's Office

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



Beginning in 1910, courses in educational theory and history, as well as summer courses for practising teachers, were offered through the College of Arts and Science. The failure to coordinate its efforts with those of the Normal School (teacher's college, established in Saskatoon in 1913), prompted the University to create a School of Education to prepare students to teach in the secondary school system. After one year's operation, the School became the College of Education in 1928. The College offered a one-year certificate programme as well as a Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) degree for students completing additional course work. In 1947 a 4-year degree programme was introduced. In 1964 the College, on behalf of the University, assumed the responsibilities and absorbed the personnel of the province's Normal Schools. The following individuals have served as Dean: F.M. Quance (1928-1947); S.R. Laycock (1947-1953); C.E. Smith (1953-1955); A.C. McEown [Acting] (1955-1956); J.B. Kirkpatrick (1956-1976); R.H. Farquhar (1976-1981); Naomi L. Hersom (1981-1986); M.P. Scharf (1986- ).


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places